Skip to main content

Putting in a Drip System

My husband came home a couple weeks ago from one of his many, many trips to Home Depot and presented me with this:





I really hadn't given much consideration to our water set up.  I was thinking hose + maybe a wand thingy.  He said it cost around $25.00, so we both were pretty stoked and he worked on getting everything set up.

Here are a few action shots:





He then added some of these guys:


Super fancy huh? Hubby put these slow-soak hoses in and catastrophe struck - the water isn't soaking into the ground.  Our soil is so awful, that it's just laying on top.  Hubby's frustrated, I'm just plain perplexed and quite frankly just haven't had time to even research how to fix this problem.  Anyone out there have a suggestion??

In other news, everyone is growing.  We put in cauliflower and broccoli (and strawberries!) last weekend (5/11).  I was informed last night that something is eating my spinach.  So tonight, I'll be making the homemade pesticide.  We also seem to have some ants in the garden that I plan to take care of with a little Borax action. 

Many, many more updates to come. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Little Review of Smart Gardener

My good friend introduced me to Smart Gardener via Pinterest .  The description was something along the lines of, "this site plans your garden for you."  As a new gardener, I was skeptical.  Sounds a little too good to be true, but I checked it out anyways. At first I was enamored.  It allows for garden planning in 4 steps: 1.  Layout your garden - you are able to choose the square footage of an in-ground garden, or choose from a variety of containers/raised beds.  Cool! 2. Select your plants - this is limited by season, and you cannot mix cool weather and warm weather vegetables.  Not cool!  Varieties of vegetables are also limited if you are looking for something specific, but you can add them manually. 3. View your plan - you get a little image with your selected plants on it, plus the space they require in your garden (square footage), planting depths, seed spacing, plant dimensions, and what to plant next to each other or not (F...

"New" Tomato Cages

One day (in 2014) I stumbled upon a post in the LA Times about tomato cages (article from 2012).  There seems to be a lot of theories out there about how to grow tomatoes (up, on the ground, upside down?), and I knew our homemade cages last year where just painfully too short for how large those plants became.  I really liked this cage configuration from the Times - it seemed simple enough and cost friendly enough.  I initially checked out some of the basic cages at the nursery and were surprised how expensive they were.  I went to Home Depot and was able to find fun colored ones for roughly $6 each.  My wonderful mom purchased 10 for me, paired by color.  They are nice enough that they can be reused year from year, and they stack well - not taking up too much room in an already too full garage.  I was able to buy a pack of 6 bamboo poles for $3.  So 5 permanent cages for $35-40.  Perfect. Setting up the cages was relatively painl...

So Year 2 Happened, I Swear

It's been almost a year since my last post and oh what a year it was.  Pregnancy kicked my butt, I remember planting my lettuce seeds sometime last May, looking at the fluffy dirt and just laying down. I know if I were living thousands of years ago, I would be dead.  Easily.  So while we planted the garden, the garden did not receive the love and attention of Year 1.  Here's a little recap of the season: We planted very similarly to the previous year (tomatoes, zucchini, onions, cucumbers, carrots, potatoes, lettuce). We tried to plant squashes on the hill, but right after they sprouted, they were mysteriously gone.  Either rabbit or dogs, not sure which.  Next year will require a more thorough defense plan. Tomatoes:  They did better than last year, and I was excited about harvest time (kinda, chopping up tomatoes in a lot of work), but a tragic hail storm hit.  And well, this happened: Zucchini:  They did fine.  We end...